Russell County High School exterior.

The Russell County School District consists of four elementary schools, one middle school, and one high school. In recent years the county has invested heavily in new and remodeled school buildings including the Russell County High School (above) with one of the state's few rural natatoriums.

The high school also has a robust Technology Center that actively works with local industries in apprenticeships and advanced manufacturing programs. This center will merge with the soon-to-be-completed Lake Cumberland Regional College and Workforce Center being constructed next to the school.

Russell County School District website

In addition to the Somerset Community College Russell Center located in Russell Springs, there are 15 institutions of higher learning within 91 miles of Jamestown. They include, with mileage indicated: Lindsey Wilson College (19), Somerset Community College Main Campus (32), Campbellsville University (38), Centre College (56), Berea College (74), Asbury College (80), University of the Cumberlands (84), Eastern Kentucky University (88), Western Kentucky University (88), Bluegrass Community & Technical College (91), Transylvania University (91) and the University of Kentucky (91).

Somerset Community College website

Lindsey Wilson College website

Slide background

Community Embraces Real-World Workforce Training College


Slide thumbnail

Centrally Located to the Eastern United States and within a day’s drive of two-thirds of the population.


Slide background

Homegrown & International Industries Generating Market Success